To Know You’re in Love

Evening
A horror film
She screams and laughs
Grabs my arm for safety
And presses her face
Into my shoulder.

I kiss the top of
Her head and pull her
Closer.

End
We head back towards
The parking garage
Wait for the sign
That tells us to walk
She skips ahead.

I look at her
And smile because
She makes me.

Lights
A drunk man drives
Swiftly towards her
She stares, frozen in
Place as he gets closer
I run and push.

It was reaction
Everything went black
Blurred screams.

Throbbing
In every joint as I
Woke in an uncomfortable
Bed in the infirmary
She sat asleep with
Her hand holding mine.

Pain indescribable
Yet I laugh for I know
I love her.

2 thoughts on “To Know You’re in Love

Leave a Reply

